Welcome to the meeting website for PAA 2008! This website maintains a complete record of the scientific program of the meeting. Use the menubar at the top to access the program by topic, by day/time or by participant.

Program Committee

The co-chairs of the 2008 Program Organizing Committee were Greg Duncan, PAA President-Elect and Elizabeth Thomson, PAA Vice-President Elect. Members of the Program Committee are listed below.

Greg Duncan
PAA President
Northwestern University

Elizabeth Thomson
PAA Vice President
University of Wisconsin

  • Gunnar Andersson, Max Planck Institute for Demographic Research
  • Caroline Bledsoe, Northwestern University
  • Maria Cancian, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Sara Curran, University of Washington
  • Aimée Dechter, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Sonalde Desai, University of Maryland
  • Paula England, Stanford University
  • Andrew Foster, Brown University
  • Linda Gage, California Department of Finance
  • Lisa Gennetian, The Brookings Institution
  • Daniel Goodkind, U.S. Census Bureau
  • Michel Guillot, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Patrick Heuveline, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Karen Holden, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Linda Jacobsen, Population Reference Bureau
  • Ariel Kalil, University of Chicago
  • Katherine Magnuson, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Linda Martin, RAND
  • Leslie McCall, Northwestern University
  • Thom McDade, Northwestern University
  • Mary McEniry, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • M. Giovanna Merli, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Kris Moore, Child Trends
  • Kelly Musick, University of Southern California
  • Lincoln Quillian, Northwestern University
  • James Raymo, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Christine Schwartz, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Timothy Smeeding, Syracuse University
  • James P. Smith, RAND
  • Bruce Spencer, Northwestern University
  • David Swanson, University of Mississippi
  • Christopher Taber, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Leah Vanwey, Indiana University
  • Robert Willis, University of Michigan
  • Franklin Wilson, University of Wisconsin-Madison

September 21, 2007 . Deadline for submitting papers or abstracts to organizers

November 2, 2007 . Session organizers notify authors of accepted papers and forward promising papers that were not accepted to Program Committee Co-Chairs for possible inclusion in overflow sessions

December 17, 2007 . Author notification for papers accepted in overflow regular sessions or poster session

February 15, 2008 . Final date to make online revisions to abstracts of accepted papers

March 7, 2008 . Deadline for posting completed papers on the program website